This New Momma’s Take on The AAP 2012 Circumcision Policy Statement

http://www.cnn.com/2012/08/27/health/aap-circumcision-recommendation/index.html

 

I’m not one to get caught up in debates on something so personal. The decision to circumcise your son has to be a family decision, just as breastfeeding and cosleeping are. But I believe in being informed about every decision I make for my children, and many people will be blindly circumcising their boys because of the AAP’s decision today. I know because I was one of those people.

When I first found out I was having a boy I assumed I would be circumcising. That’s just what people do right? But as I began reading into natural birth there was a natural progression into reading about natural parenting. I did my research and the so called benefits didn’t seem worth the discomfort my days old baby would be subject to. The risk of getting penile cancer or UTIs for boys is so low, circumcised or not, that I felt putting a newborn through cosmetic SURGERY was not worth it. Seeing one video of an infant circumcision sealed the deal for me. If he wants to do it when he’s older for cultural reasons that is his prerogative but I was not going to make that decision for him. I don’t know how today’s decision is not going against the Hippocratic Oath.

Leave a Reply

