I’m a natural parent but…my toddler is a junk food junkie!

Welcome to the second edition of the “I’m a Natural Parent – BUT…” Carnival

This post was written for inclusion in the carnival hosted by The Artful Mama and our feminist {play}school. During this carnival our participants have focused on how mainstream society has affected their natural parenting and how they have come to peace with this.


I didn’t discover the joys and benefits if natural parenting until halfway through my pregnancy with Henry. So poor Alex got the short end of the stick on that one. He’s been very adaptive switching to healthier and more natural alternatives, for example to cloth diapers. But one thing he refuses to give up is his processed foods.

thoroughly enjoying an ice cream sandwich

I admit, giving in to pregnancy cravings didn’t help. We would stop at Dunkin after work every day on the way home. He can’t read but he can tell a McDonalds sign from a Wendy’s sign. The kid would live on fruit snacks and pop tarts if I’d let him. I know I’m not the only one that is having trouble getting her two year old to eat healthy. I offer him plenty of fruits and veggies first and he’s getting better every day at actually eating them. And I’ve learned a few recipes that are tricking him into eating something tasty and good for him like this one:

Chewy Vegan Chocolate Chocolate Chip Cookies


In the end I know there will be days where lunch is a PB&J or a Happy Meal because I’m a natural parent not a perfect parent.


I'm a Natural Parent — But … Blog CarnivalThis carnival was created by The Artful Mama and Natural Parents Network. We recognize that “natural parenting” means different things to different families, and we are dedicated to providing a safe place for all families, regardless of where they are in their parenting journeys.

Please take time to read the submissions by the other carnival participants:

4 thoughts on “I’m a natural parent but…my toddler is a junk food junkie!

  1. Right there with you. My two year old is a picky eater when I wanted him to be the best eater (eat extremely healthy & eat everything!!). He has several things he’ll constantly eat, but he refuses to try new things ususally. Veggies & the meat department (except chicken nuggets lol that’s one of his “junkie” favorites) are the neglected food groups, the others we’re fine on. I always wanted my children to eat soooo much better than I did growing up. My first not so successful right now at the toddler stage, hoping the next one will actually eat better like us natural parents want haha🙂 Good luck!

Leave a Reply

