Yes I voted for OBAMA

and No I’m not a junkie welfare rat working the system. The hate I see coming from my friends on Facebook is astonishing. I am not a dunce, I have a bachelors in physics. I am not lazy, I have 2 business and a blog while raising my 2 young boys. Poor sportsmanship is not becoming of you.

So why did I vote for Obama? I agree the economy isn’t looking so good. He also raised the national debt and Obamacare…enough said. While I believe that Romney had some good ideas as far as the economy goes, I could not stomach his views on marriage equality and women’s health. I’d rather be poor than see someone denied their rights, but maybe that’s just me.

Governor Romney supports a federal marriage amendment to the Constitution that defines marriage as an institution between a man and a woman. Governor Romney also believes, consistent with the 10th Amendment, that it should be left to states to decide whether to grant same-sex couples certain benefits, such as hospital visitation rights and the ability to adopt children. Rights for LGBTQ individuals are one of the biggest civil rights battles of our time. Interracial marriage was illegal in this country until 1967, in Loving v. Virginia, the Supreme Court made interracial marriage legally available in all states. Had Romney been president at this time I wouldn’t even exist, let alone have the opportunity to wed my darling husband. Yes I am aware that the Supreme Court enforces laws and that the president in and of himself cannot ban same sex marriage. However, the president does appoint those justices…

I think it was best said by Pulitzer-winning playwright Doug Wright.

“I wish my moderate Republican friends would simply be honest. They all say they’re voting for Romney because of his economic policies (tenuous and ill-formed as they are), and that they disagree with him on gay rights. Fine. Then look me in the eye, speak with a level clear voice, and say, “My taxes and take-home pay mean more than your fundamental civil rights, the sanctity of your marriage, your right to visit an ailing spouse in the hospital, your dignity as a citizen of this country, your healthcare, your right to inherit, the mental welfare and emotional well-being of your youth, and your very personhood.” It’s like voting for George Wallace during the Civil Rights movements, and apologizing for his racism. You’re still complicit. You’re still perpetuating anti-gay legislation and cultural homophobia. You don’t get to walk away clean, because you say you “disagree” with your candidate on these issues.”

And let’s talk on Romney’s “War on Women.” Yes he’s pro-life as so many Republicans are, but it goes beyond that. Romney endorsed a “personhood” initiative treating a fertilized egg as a legal person. That could lead to murder charges for an abortion, even to save the life of a mother. In four states, even a woman who is seeking an abortion after a rape may be legally required to undergo a transvaginal ultrasound. His campaign Web site says he would “eliminate Title X family planning funding.” Romney has boasted that he would cut off all money for Planned Parenthood — even though federal assistance for the organization has nothing to do with abortions. It pays for such things as screenings to reduce breast cancer and cervical cancer.

This hits home for me. At 14 I was raped. Thankfully I didn’t contract anything and didn’t conceive. But that is because I received treatment and emergency contraception from PLANNED PARENTHOOD! I wish more people really know what they were about. They helped me through this difficult time, a time when I also had no insurance and had no idea where to turn. I also went to them for regular paps and for birth control during and just after college when I would not be able to afford traditional care.

From their website:

Planned Parenthood provides sexual and reproductive health care, education, and information to nearly five million women, men, and adolescents worldwide each year.
Nearly three million women and men in the United States annually visit Planned Parenthood affiliate health centers for trusted health care services and information.
One in five women in the U.S. has visited a Planned Parenthood health center at least once in her life.
Planned Parenthood health centers focus on prevention: 76 percent of their clients receive services to prevent unintended pregnancy.
Planned Parenthood services help prevent more than 584,000 unintended pregnancies each year.
Planned Parenthood provides nearly 770,000 Pap tests and nearly 750,000 breast exams each year, critical services in detecting cancer.
Planned Parenthood provides more than four million tests and treatments for sexually transmitted infections, including HIV.
Three percent of all Planned Parenthood health services are abortion services. (Three percent!!!!! They are so much more!!!)
Planned Parenthood affiliates provide educational programs to more than 1.1 million young people and adults each year.
Planned Parenthood has more than six million activists, supporters, and donors working for women’s health and safety and our fundamental reproductive rights.

And what if I had gotten pregnant? Being the God fearing woman I am today I would never have an abortion. But I was just a child. The possibilities for my future were endless, should I have been forced to give it all up because I was attacked? Yes there is always adoption, but we all know how cruel High School students are, and 9 months of being called awful names was bound to happen. Did you know planned parenthood offers education and information on adoption as well? While I do agree abortion is over used in this country, if I don’t know what I would have done then how can I make that decision for someone else?

So while I agree that our economy is “in the crapper”, unfortunately (or fortunately) life is not all about the mighty dollar. What I hope to see in the next 4 years is a little cooperation between the president and the conservative members of our government to get things passed not based on party lines, but for the good of the country.

So no, I’m not stupid, naive, lazy, irresponsible etc. And it’s not fair to call me so just because my priorities are different than yours.

And I leave you with my Thankvember Day 7 bit of gratitude. Today I’m thankful to live in a country where I’m free to say everything on my mind, even though it pisses a lot of my friends off. I’m thankful for the opportunity to choose who we want to run our country, and that we can complain about it to. I’m thankful I live in America, and God bless us all.

2 thoughts on “Yes I voted for OBAMA

  1. While I refuse to put in writing my own thoughts on this issue for fear of further inter-family divide, I enjoy reading others’ viewpoints. I think you made some great points!! Also, beautifully written.

    I absolutely agree that other issues (the environment, equal rights, etc) trump what money issues!

    I am also educated and worked a full time job consistently since I was age 14 up until 2 years ago. I made the decision that being mentally healthy and taking care of my babies the way I believe they should be taken care of, by me and not raised in a day care, was a better choice than continuing to struggle to barely make ends meet while getting my pay cut more and more… And now, yes, I do happen to receive some federal assistance (Food Stamps, gasp!) to feed my family. So, when the topic of welfare comes up I, of course, take the insults more personally. Also, it’s not like I hide the fact that I receive assistance, so the person in attack mode always seems to make the disclaimer that they aren’t speaking about me. Which I find hilarious, because I have quite a few friends these days that receive help from the government in one way or another and they are all people “like me”. So, the actual percentage of welfare recipients that are “lazy, entitled, drug addicted welfare people”… I have to assume, if they may actually exist, are a very small percentage of the population that are getting help.

    Phew! Thanks for the vent session!

    1. I agree, the stereotype that people on welfare are all lazy drug users is just like every other stereotype, based on fallacy and a few people giving everyone else a bad name. My family received foodstamps when I was a child and I don’t know what we would have done without it. My father is a roofer and we needed the help during the harsh winter months. And with healthcare how it is I’m looking into state health insurance. I wish people would substantiate facts before they went on tyraids, but such is life… Thanks for reading!

Leave a Reply

