Settling For the Stars – Balancing Dreams and Being Human

“Always aim for the moon, even if you miss you will land along the stars.” -W. Clement Stone

When I was in high school I remember seeing this quote on a poster in my guidance counselor’s office. I’m sure most of the teenagers that walked by that poster won’t remember it, but that poster was my little glimmer of hope when I was ready to give up. It was a promise that if I work hard good things were coming.

Over the years that mentality has gotten me far. It got me through college. It got me through my first very meaningless job. It got me that promotion that allowed me to buy my home.

That little poster set me on the path to this blessed life I have now. It’s amazing how God works some times.

So since high school I have been aiming for the moon, and luckily for me I have never missed until recently. A few days ago I decided that I had to leave my doula internship, and it was the hardest decision I have ever made.

I’ve said before that I would love to be a doula. Being part of the miracle of birth would be a blessing. It is the path I know in my heart is my true calling. But as much as I want to be there for those mothers and babies, my babies need me right now. They still need all of me. And no matter what I end up doing for a living they will always be my first and most important responsibility.

As they say, timing is everything. Maybe I can try again when the boys are older. For now the moon is just out of my reach, but I have two little stars in my arms, and that is something worth celebrating.

Leave a Reply

